The Odes – Live

NOT025 / IDEAL003 – The Odes – Live – Release Date: 25th April 2013.

Split release through Not Applicable (digital) and New Ideals (cassette)

01 – Nogales
02 – Can’t Beat Blim
03 – Love Is Like A Violence (original track by Steve Beresford)
04 – O! Pity Us! (original track by Paddy Steer & Andreas Gerth)
05 – She Spent A Fortune On Lipstick On Me
06 – Miles Away (original track by Paddy Steer & Andreas Gerth)
07 – Skies Are Bruised (original track by Herman Martin)
08 – Fragments (original track by Andreas Gerth)
09 – Where You End (original track by Paddy Steer & Andreas Gerth)

Ted Milton – Voice, Saxophone
Sam Britton – Electronics

Recorded live at the Hundred Years Gallery, 13 Pearson St. London on the 25th May 2012 by Seymour Milton.

Album Description:

‘The Odes’ is a continuing documentation of Ted Milton’s collaborations outside of Blurt for the last 25 years; a litany of recordings with The Back-To-Normal Orchestra, Steve Beresford, Sam Britton, Andreas Gerth, Loopspool, Herman Martin, Paddy Steers, Yam Yam and Seymour Milton to name but a few.

Individual tracks from these various collaborations have been re-purposed and re-interpreted by Ted Milton and Sam Britton into a performance scenario and toured extensively over the last few years.

‘The Odes – Live’ is the first documentation of these performances; capturing unexpected twists to the existing material and new settings for Milton’s poetry and saxophone, the result is a vital, energetic vehicle that pushes the collaborative expeditions ever further, simultaneously adding new work along the way.