Icarus – Sylt Remixes

RUMPCD011 – CD Album – Release Date 6th July 2009

01 – Volks! (Volked Up by NABO)
02 – Keet (OPIATE Mix)
03 – Keet (Psittacidae Mix by FRANK BRETSCHNEIDER)
04 – First Inf(E)Rænce (KARSTEN PFLUM Remix)
05 – Keet (ISAN Saved By The Bell Mix)
06 – Selfautoparent (ITAL TEK Remix)
07 – Rugkiks (SVARTBAG Remix)
08 – KEET’98 (oxy mix aka Ivan Pavlov/CoH)
10 – Keet (BADUN Remix)
11 – First Inf(E)Rænce (XELA remix)
12 – Second First Inf(E)Rænce (GOTO80 gbc64 Remix)
13 – Keets (Original 2005 AD mix by ICARUS)
14 – Jyske (DIGITONAL Remix)

Listen to this release here (player will open in a new window)

Press Quotes:

"Given the feeling of flux that imbues Icarus’s music a remix album makes perfect sense, while judicious choices regarding the producers chosen to carry out the task mean this feels more like a collection of brand new music than reinterpretations … so much inventive and engaging work." – Chris Power, BBC (UK)

"Overall the listening experience is as invigorating as it is unsettling" – DJ Mag (UK)

"It’s almost impossible to place this album anywhere other than in the ‘slightly uneasy listening’ bracket. In an age of mass-conformity and mainstream music-by-numbers, such non-conformity can only be a good thing." – Whisperin and Hollerin (UK)

"Our old pal John Twells (Xela) avoids the sort of pitch-black drone studies we’ve become accustomed to in favour of BOC-like beats, brightened synth basslines and layered, harmonising vocals. It’s actually incredibly poppy, and underlines both the diversity and overall quality of this fine compilation." – Boomkat (UK)

"Sylt Remixes is a varied collection … you do get your money’s worth." – Textura (Canada)

"Die Menschen, die diese Musik machen und jene, die sie hören, können keine schlechten Menschen sein." – Partysan (DE)

"Eine recht gute Remix-Edition mit dickem Stuff von tanzbar bis chillig oder krude elektronisch." – Ae-Pool (DE)

"Icarus’ Sylt på nye hænder forvaltes kompetent og kærligt." – ***** Gaffa (DK)

"Es klingt nach minimal-dubbigem Schaltkreisglimmen, romantischern Stromkabelschunkeln, pulsierenden Tonsignalen, acht-bittedem Gruscheln und finster verlorener Beatforschung. Nichtimmer Abstrakt, aber immer öfters. Hörenswert." – Raveline (DE)

"Hier wird nicht zitiert, hier wird tiefgreifend, ehrlich und substanziell neu gemischt und dekonstruiert." – MTV (DE)

Album Description:

Icarus’ 2007 album ‘Sylt’ further consolidated the band’s exploration into remixing recordings of live performances, which were in turn remixes of earlier studio tracks (a trait first explored in 2005’s ‘Carnivalesque’).

With the ‘Sylt Remixes’ album, this reprocessing passes over to third parties, gathering contributions from Denmark (home of Rump Recordings), the UK (home of Icarus) and further afield.

The collection opens on a dancefloor tack, kicking off with teenage prodigy Nabo’s wonky mix of "Volks!", and passing via Björk-collaborator Opiate’s abstract mix of "Keet" into Frank Bretschneider of Raster-Noton’s pulsating edit of the same.

Karsten Pflum’s bass-driven take on "First Inf(E)Rænce" strips the hoover bag out of a frenetic crescendo to create a minimal dub-funk work out, while ISANs version of "Keet" adds glockenspiels and an almost shoegaze vibe.

Elsewhere, Planet Mu’s Ital Tek puts the dubstep into "Selfautoparent", while Svartbag extends "Rugkiks" with guitardrones and noise and Throbbing Gristle-collaborator Ivan Pavlov (aka oxy/CoH) gives a minimalistic take on Keets lop-sided beats.

The remixing then pushes out towards more abstract territory with electro-acoustic improvisers Isambard Khroustaliov / Lothar Ohlmeier, cyber-jazzers Badun, Xela (in a surprisingly hip-hop workout of "Second Inf(E)Rænce"), and Swedish 8-bit wizzard Goto80.

Finally, Icarus themselves also provide a pre-original mix of ‘Sylt’s opening track, "Keet", redecorated with fragments of orchestration, before Digitonal finishes off with a soothing take on "Jyske".

The artwork weaves London parakeets into the mix, courtesy of a video created by Alice Scott to the track "Keets", which is available as a download as an accompaniment to the album.

Film to Keets:

The film takes its narrative from a real community of previously domestic parakeets released into the wild in the suburbs of west London.

This community of birds has been growing exponentially since their release in unknown circumstances (the subject of much speculation) in the mid 80s. Now this tropical bird is more common than native blackbirds or sparrows.

The film imagines a future scenario where the parakeets become as prolific in parts of London as the common pigeon is today.

A film by Alice Scott